Winner: GOODBYE GOD, I’VE GONE TO BODIE

GOODBYE-WINS

We Did It! Just discovered last night that my Horror Love Story set in a Ghost Town took First Place. Now this is no ordinary love story, although I think the romance aspect helped push it over the top. The idea came from reading an article in the San Francisco Chronicle about Bodie, a ghost town in the Bodie Hills east of the Sierra Nevada mountain range in Mono County, California, United States, about 75 miles southeast of Lake Tahoe. It is located 12 mi east-southeast of Bridgeport, at an elevation of 8379 feet.

Bullet Synopsis: Al, an everyman B-list actor, travels to Bodie to be an extra in a Zombie Western. He finds a secret passage into the ghost world, where he meets the girl of his dreams, who of course happens to be a ghost. Throughout the story, he crosses back and forth between the real world and the spirit world, uncertain where he belongs but ends up listening to his heart.

I’ll try to leverage this Win by getting an introduction to a screenplay agent or, in the alternative, find a production company that wants to get it on film. I am not opposed to receiving a Back-End deal. What matters is getting my story up on screen. As I said before, awards are nice but I’d rather have my work produced than spend my time framing award certificates that will soon gather dust.

Leave a Reply

